I do

A little poem I wrote recently about letting go and the challenges of that!

I do

I cannot shake you

like a Polaroid picture

I cannot

shake you.

I cannot shake you

like a towel full of sand

I cannot.

Shake you so your bones

rattle inside your head

I cannot

shake you.

I cannot

like a crab’s pincer grip

on a child’s big toe

shake you.

I cannot shake you

like a shake and vac

to put the freshness back

I cannot

shake you.

I cannot shake you

like a lettuce leaf

plucked fresh as a daisy and washed

I cannot

shake you.

like a tambourine

or an apprehensive heart beat

I can

not

shake.

And yet

as I cannot shake you

I do just that

I shake

and shake

and I shake

I cannot shake you

but I do.

Leave a Reply

